The Karner Chronicles

Icon

Linda’s Life in Japan

Keeping up Relationships

The 2nd Monday Ladies Lunch Bunch
This is a follow-up to my last post.  Since I was no longer teaching the Friday afternoon class, I was freer to socialize with them, so I proposed that we meet every 2nd Monday.  My original idea was to sometimes have lunch, sometimes just coffee, sometimes meet at my house for a craft or game, but it has become a 2nd Monday lunch date.Yesterday was our first time at a new restaurant.  We had a wonderful time catching up from the holidays and just chatting.  There were 6 of us, including three Christians.  I took opportunities to seed the conversation now and then with the gospel, but I sense that the ones who do not yet believe are fairly hardened despite years of Bible times.  Truly conversion is a work of God and no one else!

Please pray for a work of God’s mighty Spirit in the hearts of the 2nd Monday Ladies Lunch Bunch.  Also, although I meant to meet with the whole class, they still have not told one of the members about it; I sense some tension there that I don’t understand. But I don’t want to interfere by going “over their heads” since they ran with the ball once I proposed the idea.

Finally, if any of you are thinking, “Wait a minute.  Jan 20th was not the 2nd Monday!” let me explain.  Jan 13th was “Coming of Age Day,” when the nation celebrates those who will celebrate their 20th birthday during this calendar year, which means they have reached adulthood.  “Coming of Age Day” is a Japanese holiday, and we switch our meeting whenever a holiday comes along!


Thank you for praying!!
God bless you with His love!!
Linda Karner

Originally sent as an email on 14.01.21

Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Responses

  1. sari inbuon says:

    Will you please let me know how to contact you

Leave a Reply

A Glossary

CCSI: Covenant Christian School International, the MK school started by the Chiba team to educate the missionary kids on that team as well as others as space and resources allow.
E-Track: students at CCSI who study in English (1st-12th grade)
J-Track: students at CCSI who study in Japanese (1st-6th grade)
MK: Missionary Kid
Oyumino at Honda: the first church planted in Oyumino; they didn't want to change their name when they changed their location
Oyumino in Oyumino: "Oyumino Alive" - the second church plant in the original chapel

Want to call overseas?

First check:
http://everytimezone.com/#2013-3-4,-81,6be

(Is there a geek out there who can tell me how to make this into a link? THANkS!!)

Barefoot Gen – short book review

"Barefoot Gen" (hard 'g' - like in 'get') is a manga (comic book novel) that I picked up in the Hiroshima Peace Memorial bookstore this past September. Written by a survivor of the atomic blast, the series is a riveting read, and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in Japanese culture. Don't skip the preface, it will give you some valuable orientation to the manga format. Also, be warned, I said "series" because the story encompasses 10 volumes, each of which costs $14... unless your library has it! Even though each volume sort of stands on its own (I've read 2 vols. so far) it's so emotionally engaging I think you'll come to love Gen as I have, and want to follow him through the saga!

Questions I never thought to ask

13.2.1 My Japanese biology student, who spent his elementary school years in the States, asked me the correct way to write a type font "a." That's not something I learned in school; I don't even remember being introduced to type font "a" as opposed to a printed "a" (the circle-stick). I have been frustrated in the past when making flash cards for kid's English classes because so few fonts use the "circle-stick" for "a," and using the type font "a" would be like introducing a new letter of the alphabet . . . (Good ole "Comic Sans" to the rescue!)

RSS Bible Times for ESOL programs

  • The Story of Jesus in Luke – Ch. 15ff (Part 7)
    Please note that Bible time 00 – “The Setting,” is so marked only because it is also slated to be Bible Time 12 in Part 6. Make sure you cover it, it is not optional! 00 – The Setting 01 – The Lost Sheep 02 – The Lost Coin 03 – Two Sons – Lost […]
  • The Story of Jesus in Luke – Ch. 13, 14 (Part 6)
    Biblegateway.com has an IVP commentary on line that would provide an excellent resource for preparing to use these Bible times. A relevant part of this commentary can be found here. 00 – Reread Luke 12 01 – Repent or Perish 01 – Map 02 – A Grace Period 03 – The Sabbath Day 04 – […]
  • The Story of Jesus in Luke – Ch. 11, 12 (Part 5)
    Luke Part 5 picks up in Luke 11:5, just after the Lord’s Prayer. Bible times 1-5 complete chapter 11, and chapter 12 begins in Bible time #6. 01 – Prayer 02 – Power 03 – Blessing 04 – Something greater 05 – A most amazing dinner 06 – Fear and Worth 07 – The Unforgiven […]

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

