The Karner Chronicles

Icon

Linda’s Life in Japan

Happy New Year 2014!

May God bless you and keep you and your kin!!
I have been teaching full time at CCSI this year, Covenant Christian School International.  School will resume on Tuesday, January 7.  I have been down most of the last month with a very severe cold; please pray that I would heal and become stronger.  (I am very prone to bronchial infections during winters in Japan for some reason…)

Here are two more general prayer requests for the month of January:

1. Please pray for me as I teach that each class will have a clear focus; that I can sort through all that I want to impart to what is necessary and helpful to impart to the students.
2. Give thanks to God for allowing me to be a teacher at CCSI.  Pray that He continues to grow and mold me to accomplish what He has for me in this appointment.

Thank you for praying!!
God bless you with His love!!
Linda Karner

Originally sent as an email on 14.01.02

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

A Glossary

CCSI: Covenant Christian School International, the MK school started by the Chiba team to educate the missionary kids on that team as well as others as space and resources allow.
E-Track: students at CCSI who study in English (1st-12th grade)
J-Track: students at CCSI who study in Japanese (1st-6th grade)
MK: Missionary Kid
Oyumino at Honda: the first church planted in Oyumino; they didn't want to change their name when they changed their location
Oyumino in Oyumino: "Oyumino Alive" - the second church plant in the original chapel

Want to call overseas?

First check:
http://everytimezone.com/#2013-3-4,-81,6be

(Is there a geek out there who can tell me how to make this into a link? THANkS!!)

Barefoot Gen – short book review

"Barefoot Gen" (hard 'g' - like in 'get') is a manga (comic book novel) that I picked up in the Hiroshima Peace Memorial bookstore this past September. Written by a survivor of the atomic blast, the series is a riveting read, and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in Japanese culture. Don't skip the preface, it will give you some valuable orientation to the manga format. Also, be warned, I said "series" because the story encompasses 10 volumes, each of which costs $14... unless your library has it! Even though each volume sort of stands on its own (I've read 2 vols. so far) it's so emotionally engaging I think you'll come to love Gen as I have, and want to follow him through the saga!

Questions I never thought to ask

13.2.1 My Japanese biology student, who spent his elementary school years in the States, asked me the correct way to write a type font "a." That's not something I learned in school; I don't even remember being introduced to type font "a" as opposed to a printed "a" (the circle-stick). I have been frustrated in the past when making flash cards for kid's English classes because so few fonts use the "circle-stick" for "a," and using the type font "a" would be like introducing a new letter of the alphabet . . . (Good ole "Comic Sans" to the rescue!)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers